Mental Health is Magic with Sarah Potter
Social Media Therapy
How to Stop Feeling Shame Around Your Financial Trauma
0:00
-42:42

How to Stop Feeling Shame Around Your Financial Trauma

Financial trauma is a real thing. Financial shame is real. And financial abuse is real. And these all influence our money habits, and the way we feel about money.


Quite often my parent’s desire to control my money, take over my finances, charge me rent to live in their house once I graduated high school, and their own endless financial struggles began to pile up. 

I started off learning really toxic financial habits. I also entered into a relationship after my first year of college where I was constantly financially shamed by my abuser and my financial moves were heavily controlled – so much so I had a high-balance secret credit card so I could buy coffee without my abuser knowing. 

Needless to say, I’ve got financial trauma. I feel a ton of shame around money. In this episode, we're going to break down where shame and financial trauma comes form and exactly how you can heal from it. 


I'm joined by Steven M. Hughes, a financial therapist, and Sarah Li Cain, CFP candidate and best known for her works in Fortune, CNBC Select, and Redbook.

Learn more about Steven:
@stevenmhughes; Facebook, Twitter: @knowmoneysteve;
Linkedin: https://linkedin.com/in/smhughes2
https://stevenmhughes.com

Steven M. Hughes is a Financial Therapist, Reiki Master Teacher, and professional speaker who helps private clients, corporate teams, and audiences achieve lasting financial wellness. He has served as a financial expert for ABC’s “Soul of A Nation,” Forbes, Business Insider, and more. Steven is also the founder of the non-profit Know Money®, which exists to help Black college students avoid financial pitfalls and build healthy money mindsets and behaviors.

Learn more about Sarah:
 @beyondthedollar on Instagram and Twitter
http://beyondthedollar.co

Sarah Li-Cain is a finance writer and an Accredited Financial Counselor candidate whose work has appeared in places like Bankrate, Business Insider, CNBC, Redbook, Yahoo! Finance, Financial Planning Association, and US News.

0 Comments